Skip to Content

Joey Kitson releases debut solo CD

June 30th, 2009

Joey Kitson, lead singer of seven-time East Coast Music Award-winning and Juno Award nominated Celtic rock group Rawlins Cross, releases his debut solo album STAN (Ground Swell/Warner), a tribute to folk legend Stan Rogers, in stores nationally today, June 30. 

STAN offers ten of Rogers’ best known songs, including “The Field Behind the Plow, “45 Years, and “Fogarty’s Cove.The CD was produced by Chris Corrigan and features “A-list” Maritime musicians, including Brian Bourne (bass), Dave Burton (drums, percussion), Chris Corrigan (guitars) Kim Dunn (keyboards) Ray Legere (fiddle, mandolin) and Vishten members Emmanuelle LeBlanc (bodhran, tin whistles, backing vocals) and Pastelle LeBlanc (accordion, backing vocals)

Kitson will launch the CD with a special performance at the Stan Rogers Folk Festival in Canso, NS on July 5 at 4 p.m.
He will also be performing in the Charlottetown Festival’s production Stan Rogers: A Matter of Heart this summer. The theatrical celebration, honouring Rogers’ body of work, has a 72-show run throughout July, August and September at The Mack. For more information, visit: